the dance of the ink riddled fingers

“shutup Convention, you’re too skinny to have a valid opinion”

Posted in epiphany tiffany, he said she said, thought spills by enisea on 25/01/2010

Two nights ago, occurred this brief conversation which I must admit totally shook me.

So we were entertaining ourselves with Van Helsing. A handful of us, probably 4 of the 7 or 9 people watching the scene between vampire bride, Aleera (Elena Anaya) and vampire slayer, Anna Valerious (Kate Beckinsale) began a poll on who was the fairest of them all. We had our opinions, then a good friend of mine carelessly justified: “Nah, the ranga (Aleera) is a little chubbier, if she was a little thinner than maybe”. To which I snapped “GEEZ LOUISE! What are you? The MEDIA?”. She craftily nipped back “Yes”.

And since then, I have questioned my secret desire to be thinner. I begin to wonder why. I begin to loath such a craving to be accepted by the warped generalisation of beauty and the shallow ‘up-down’ of a stranger’s glance. It makes me feel sick that sometimes I try to smile in particular manners that make my face look sharper (thinner) in photos.

Dear stupid-beauty-image-conventions, go hang yourself. I don’t want your poison judgements anymore.
Wahaha! I say this now because I’ve just consumed the larger portions of the pork crackling mother prepared for the two of us when I really shouldn’t have continued eating so late into the night (because my throat croaks and complains and my stomach is unsettled…not to mention the high cholesterol)

Take you’re pick, slave to conventions of fashionable anorexia or gorge yourself on self-control-less gluttony. Ugh.  Sometimes I think I argue for the sake of arguing. Either way, I’m in the wrong.  Balance is precarious.

Leave a Reply

