the dance of the ink riddled fingers

diamonds in the sky

Posted in heroes of mine, thought spills by enisea on 05/02/2010

There is no other I would have rather stayed up to 2:45am with on mine orange couch with than you tonight, S. Something about beginning conversations awkwardly with the asking of ridiculously cliche and sickeningly broad and typical questions – likened to the exchanges observed between strangers or acquaintances – and to have that then rapidly progress into such a challenging and open exchange, as if the very words you spoke became visible and danced into my ears, I was engaged so!

She’s almost 3 years my junior, yet this wisdom, this heart I hear beating, this capacity to be committed in so many areas and to so many people and to God: I admire.  I am not exagerating when I say that word I couldn’t find…inadequacy was nibbling at my feet everytime utterances of God’s breath exited your lovely lips! Why wasn’t I as amazing as you when I was 18?

You have no idea how you’ve just stirred my spirit. Encouraged it, yes. Definitely.

What I’ve noticed of late…
If God in these girls [correction:] women is so bright, so beautiful, then I want God in me.  Because that sort of beauty is like washing one’s self in liquid gold. That sort of beauty doesn’t grow frail and old, it only gets purer.

Pastor Sarah, Debbie, Rachel, Aileeny, Suz, Ally, Mother, Addy, Seh Yeh, May…All women with elements of that Proverbs 31 woman I aspire to grow into. Ahhhh, I’m in love with these women!

Leave a Reply

