the dance of the ink riddled fingers

humble pie

Posted in epiphany tiffany by enisea on 07/06/2010

Had a generous serve of it, yesterday.
Apparently the three compartments of pride consist of: haughtiness, conceit and arrogance.
Apparently I have very level amounts of all three. 

I actually couldn’t decide which was heavier in its peppering of my character.
I’m easy like that – that way I can just say “I’m proud” because in the ugliest, simplest sense, I am.

I don’t want to fight with you anymore
I don’t want to judge you anymore
I don’t want to scoff or roll my eyes at you
I don’t want to keep telling you how wrong you are
I don’t want to have to pretend how much more capable I am than I feel
I just want so much for you to love me

…and I don’t know what possessed me to think that by doing these things I would incite appreciation or love.

Truth spoken without love is disregarded.
Love without truth is...not love.
Humility with both of these is rare.
Leave a Reply

