the dance of the ink riddled fingers

goodbye twothousandandten

Posted in epiphany tiffany, frozen frames, thought spills by enisea on 31/12/2010

My Love!

I wanted to thank you for one great year. There were two measurable milestones passed: graduating from university and reading the bible from cover to cover (although I cannot say that I am done with learning nor is my need to read The Good Book so simply satisfied).  I was honoured to attend and be involved in three weddings (Congrats: Hong and Esther, Julian and Jenny, Benny and Suz).  I managed to save a sufficient four-digit figure to fund my China trip in 4 months on a casual wage (despite a month of fulltime placement).  From memory, this year included five large confrontations with very good friends, all of which were profitable though momentarily painful.  And I’ve been forgiven for doing stupid and selfish things about three thousand, five hundred and sixty times.
..at least.

I have been so blessed this year. So mightily blessed and I cannot wait for the New Year of climbing yet more waterfalls and enjoying the company of beautiful people.  Though I have little, I have much; and though I have much, I have little. The things that matter in life enrich my life, though none of them belong to me.  They are too valuable for me to claim by right and I cannot afford them which make me rich.  But for now, they are by me.  Yet, if at any stage those and the things I love were to not be present the next day, I wouldn’t have the right to complain nor be angry.  If the trees, the scenery and the beauty of nature were tomorrow to evaporate; if those who keep me from loneliness were to one by one disperse; if my indulgences in abundance and richness (for example; savouring the culinary, freedom to dance, to write, to speak, to act, to explore and to worship as I so chose) were to eventually become nothing… I would have no reasonable argument as to demand them back.  What could I say? “I deserve these things!” Do I really?  We take these for granted.   Haha, no doubt at any time these happen I will probably forget the previous sentence and commence my ever skilled practice of lamenting – but for now, I’ll remember my purpose here and how I continually procrastinate that which I know my life has its purpose. To love God with all my heart, all my soul, all my mind and all my strength and to love you as he does…unconditionally (despite your potential to be an unreasonable, stubborn, unkind, hypocritical, ungrateful pig.  HAHA, I know, I know – takes one to know one ;))

22let us draw near to God with a sincere heart and with the full assurance that faith brings, having our hearts sprinkled to cleanse us from a guilty conscience and having our bodies washed with pure water. 23 Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful. 24 And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds. (Hebrews 10.)

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rach said, on 03/01/2011 at 2:42 PM

    Thanks for your thankfulness for life! Where was this photo taken, and what waterfalls do you speak of my friend?

    • enisea said, on 03/01/2011 at 10:08 PM

      This photo was taken on the 30th december when you didn’t come with us to Lorne! Jess was there too, just not in this photo… I spoke of literal waterfalls, although I suppose you could imagine a million metaphorical ones in its place!

      thanks for your qwirkiness, love, and for reading as always :) i always wish i could comment on your writings, alas tumblr is frustrating like that. i can only follow.

      • Rach said, on 04/01/2011 at 8:38 PM

        Hahaha I was speaking of real waterfalls too!!! I’ve been thinking of them. I’m jealous! I wanna be proposed to too! :p

        On your Tumblr dashboard you can actually click ‘reply’ on a particular post and write a response that way!


Leave a Reply

