the dance of the ink riddled fingers

blood on the ice [yesterday’s story]

Posted in heroes of mine, how was your day? by enisea on 26/01/2011

Anyone else could have mistaken us for swans! After finding our slippery footing on the shallow frozen lake at Docklands, we zipped in and out between the everyone else occupying the ring.  We had anticipated the worst, it being school holidays and iceskating being quite a novelty, expecting there to be at least a hundred or so awkward school kids.  But lo and behold, the ice was sufficiently empty enough to rule!  Jac took her time getting to know her feet, but we took her by the hand, my right and Gabby’s left and picked up the speed for a handful of circles and like proud parents, released her to do her own speedy gliding.  It was the definition of beautiful! Hahaha!

So overly-confident I tried to melt the ice I ran over and decided that a new skill would be even more impressive, so I tried backwards and I tried cross stepping at corners.  Cheryl assisted me for as long as my backwards attempts lasted for. Skated forwards while I tried orchestrating my feet to her momentum for traverlling without her. I was impatient and therefore unsuccessful. We swap roles and this is where the fun began!  I skated forward while she tried backwards. We get about 2 metres before flailing in a comedic panic where she screams for a whole five seconds of variating dynamic!  We’re still for a half second before my feet slip out from under me and my elbow twacks the ice, my back next and I slide for a little as I restrain my head from swinging back onto the concrete surface!  Cheryl topples in slow motion over me, very unharmed and laughing. We get up laughing as an ice-ring staff is by my side in no time.

“Are you alright?”
“Hahahaha, yes, yes, fine thanks”
“Umm, someone’s bleeding.”
“What? where?”
“…oh…”

So we see a couple of spots of blood on the ice and I realise the leak is from my elbow, which drips every three or four seconds. I try to collect the bright red as we’re ushered into the first aid room where we entertain the young man attending to me.  It was thrilling!  I’m still alive! Just a little bruised on my elbow and lower back.

Ahh, productive day!  Nothing like a little blood to know that you’re alive!

So… apparently I bleed and I’m not a god, you can stop worshipping me now :P hahahaha!  GOOD TIMES – bloody good times!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. saNdra said, on 27/01/2011 at 2:42 PM

    WAHHH!!! ice skating! ive always wanted to try that place..
    EEEEP!! YA ELBOW!!!! that looks so painful ><""

    you definitely left your signature in that photo. That wonderful grin of yours =]

    take care!!!

  2. The Gods of Vice said, on 30/01/2011 at 5:42 AM

    looks like you had a great time!


Leave a Reply

