the dance of the ink riddled fingers

day one on the job

Posted in handfuls of ambition, how was your day? by enisea on 01/02/2011

I was stupid to turn off my alarm this morning at 7:30am, jolting upright after accidentally nodding off til 8:13am…when I had scheduled to arrive at work at 8:30am.  Technically I needed to leave the house in five minutes to be punctual.  I lost myself scrambling around, sliding and bumping into doorways, swallowing a couple of mouthfuls of yogurt for breakfast, packing lunch, um-ing and ah-ing over what to wear, brushing teeth, gathering a little handful of “stuff” and running out of the house without my laptop (foolishly), to arrive at my destination at 8:41am. I reprimanded myself for not giving a better impression of myself for the first day at the job I’d studied a 4-year bachelor for. Fortunately for me, I work with very forgiving and wonderful women who hardly blinked at my lateness… that I was aware of!  I felt very silly indeed.

Without wanting to contribute to the inconsiderate train of thinking that kindergarten teachers are glorified babysitters (rather, I believe we’re more like underappreciated teachers), today was very, very relaxed.  What with only a list of 46 kids, I’m yet to put names to faces and having set up the room, I was paid to get to know the staff I’ll be working with very closely!  I’m a little nervous and I haven’t yet signed a contract, came close to, but there were a couple of details requiring discussion.  Tomorrow I skip to officeworks and kikki. K (with a voucher ;)) in excited anticipation for the organisation of my paperwork.

Just because I enjoy my job, I interact with 3 and 4 year olds, get to play with toys and read children’s books doesn’t mean it’s any less professional than yours.  I probably have more clients to deal with than you, and you know how diverse clients come – the individuals and the collectives – not to mention I have their most valuable possession, try and tell me how demanding they’re not.  I respect them for trusting me.  I have progress to monitor, and unlike inanimate things like trends, stock and machinery, mine are more delicate, unpredictable and much more opinionated.  I am accountable to everyone I work with and for – committee, parents, staff, community and children. My job requires more flexibility and creativity than the predictability of yours, assessed by the harshest critics – children.  I love my job and I haven’t even met my children!  This is not just a job, this is my most privileged opportunity yet!  I am a Kindergarten Teacher and I get paid to teach children to say please and thank you.  That’s how the most amazing people in the world started off… saying please and thank you, and saying it often.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The Gods of Vice said, on 05/02/2011 at 12:11 AM

    I wonder who made you feel like this is a less than respected job, because you have chosen to step into a world whereby you can really affect how these children perceive the world by nourishing them with good books and interesting play and indeed, something as simple but so important as teaching them p’s & q’s!! A highly important job, I would have thought.
    Kids need that kind of real care!


Leave a Reply

