the dance of the ink riddled fingers

first love

Posted in heroes of mine, pin the tail on the love by enisea on 14/02/2011

I’ve been preparing for today over the weekend. I told myself to be careful with today because it is just a flippant day with more irrational/ridiculous thoughts than usual.  Happy Valentines Day!  I couldn’t have woken up in a warmer embrace – dear God.  Sun’s come out to dance along the paths of lovers and to sigh over her own loneliness (her fierce passion burns anyone remotely intimate with her).  Today I spent an incredible two hours with my first love, it was more nutritional than today’s Sultana Bran and I craved it more, so breakfast came at 12 noon.  I picked up the guitar for the first time in years yesterday, and thought I might try to serenade Him this morning with a handful of songs requiring only the same three chords (because I only know five chords presently, and I couldn’t even identify them for you).  Haha, I’m not very good with the whole serenading thing so at about halftime, the order was reversed and I found myself much adoring His love over me.   It’s a beautiful thing to start one’s day with the dearest thing to your heart – it has a momentous effect on the attitude you have, which permeates everything really.  Being in love seems to arm its infected with an extra coat of resilience, making them/me less susceptible to the little annoying things and more sensitive to the beautiful things in life. Ahh, love is a beautiful thing. And it’s mine. All mine.

Here’s a shout out to all the men in my life who have contributed to this “under construction” site of mine, it being very hazardous and somewhat unpredictable.  Thank you for loving me. Thank you for accepting me, though I know I annoyed you. Thank you for every compliment you’ve dealt me, even the ones I threw away or ignored. Thank you for making me feel beautiful. Thank you for telling me I was beautiful (especially those times when I swear you could see that I was not but you knew that I needed to hear it).  Thank you for patience – my ugly mannerisms can be ruthlessly time consuming.  Thank you for generosity – when I just wanted to be spoilt and you spoilt me.  Thank you for strength, your words have encouraged me.  Thank you for smiling, your smiles have been a regular staple of my daily diet.  Thank you for listening, when I had everything to say and whether it was my place to say it or not. Thank you for forgiving my stupid, stupid, selfish acts.  Thank you for being brave – especially when it came to honesty.  Thank you, thank you, thank you. I’m surrounded by so many amazing men (and women – but today being Valentines Day beckons I give the men in my life extra mention) and I wouldn’t have travelled so far without you.  It’s been an honour and a real privilege making it this far in life with you.

Happy Day! Love life and the people you share it with!

Leave a Reply

