the dance of the ink riddled fingers

dinner#2

Posted in incr-edibles by enisea on 04/04/2011

Haha, there was very long pause between cooking the inaugural dinner for the year, much ambition and talk of excitement for the verbal contract of cooking weekly… and (true to form) very little to show for it.

Meet dinner #2.  Despite this “chinese-esque” homely looking toss up getting nods of approval from the parentals – there is still very far to go.  I got a little too excited with the oyster sauce in the beans+fishcake baby and she sort of hits your taste buds with “you’ll be thirsty in about ten seconds”, hahahaha! This is one of my favourite simple dishes which Mother revealed was actually easy as pie to assemble (the particulars about adjusting flavour still being practiced)!  However, although she advised 3 cloves of garlic, I think next time I’ll stick to two, and wait til they brown before throwing in the fishcake and beans.  In the other dish, I confess I simply re-fried the mince+mushroom leftovers and tossed in ‘Wu-Mu’ noodles and vola, a dish. Hahahaha – cheat! Previously I couldn’t even boil noodles very well – from experience, they were usually neglected and hence soggy and sometimes unsalvageable – give it a whirl in fuming water and stand menacingly over the stove and your food will do what you want it to do! :P

I’m a little excited about cooking – I admire every capable cook for the is skill, talent and flicks of wrists that I have yet to master. Funnily enough I eat the ingredients during the process probably a little more than I do the finished product. I will read and abide by recipes so long as they don’t exceed 70 words.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. saNdra said, on 08/04/2011 at 8:46 AM

    *raises hand*
    i want some =]


Leave a Reply

