the dance of the ink riddled fingers

writing, beating, finding

Posted in thought spills by enisea on 26/04/2011

Mm, again with that compulsion to litter this page with my favourite form of escapism and allow you preview the strange things that make sense to me.  I sprawled 5-6 pages of handwriting yesterday, in a bid to figure out what it is I need to do differently.  I’m getting there, I can taste it – this epiphany is on the horizon.  Perhaps of relevance, the challenge of 1 Corinthians 9:27 won’t let me forget my lack of discipline. Since yesterday morning, when it floated to the forefront of my memory and stuck, for no reason of my own, I will presume it was planted there to pioneer a severe alteration regarding my thought process.

No, I beat my body and make it my slave…

Strangely, the brunt of this blunt version (NIV) hits home the hardest. Call it ‘discipline’ and substitute ‘slave’ for ‘bringing into subjection/submission’ and it becomes a little more tame.  My battle is with the wild inconsistency of my motivations and emotions; and this version, for me, hits the nail forcibly on my head.  I cannot be governed by my flesh.  I refuse to be.  Time to train. Gabrielle: “I can’t fight against my pride without injuring it”. I can’t surpress and withdraw from my excess of comfort without ignoring a handful of cravings.  I can’t expect to get any stronger without straining my body, my mentality, my spiritual stamina.

I’ve just discovered this site for comparing the hundreds of translations and versions of the bible (in alphabetical order), hahaha, even other languages. It’s actually really wonderful. Check it:
http://www.biblestudytools.com/1-corinthians/9-27-compare.html

And while we’re on the topic of the various versions of The Good Book, even atheists prefer the King James (haha, oh the many debates about which versions can be trusted!): “Rinse Not the Prose” (short article).

In other news:

These are wonderful… on so many levels.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. saNdra said, on 27/04/2011 at 9:20 AM

    ah thanks for the link!
    =]


Leave a Reply

