the dance of the ink riddled fingers

breaking up with Facebook

Posted in handfuls of ambition by enisea on 23/06/2011

My relationship with Facebook (as you might’ve gathered) is sporadic… to say the least.  Like any unhealthy relationship, I find myself consumed and in excess communications for one week, and then estranged and attempting creative ways to avoid it the next.  I’ve never officially deactivated my account, but I will for this weekend… but why for the weekend?  Will it be forever?  I can’t answer that. I don’t know.  I haven’t decided on whether this relationship can become a beneficial and healthy resource, or whether my syncopated indecisiveness about social networking is purely unwillingness to confess personal vice.  You pick your battles, and right now I don’t want to battle, so I’ll just walk away and focus the little self-control I do possess into other avenues of my life – which I deem more important.

I’ve lived a week without Facebook, I’ve lived three… and before getting a Facebook account (5 years ago?), I’d lived my life free of ANY social network!  So, maybe this will only last the weekend.  Maybe I’ll abstain for a little longer.  Perhaps forever.  My sister’s been breathing OK without Facebook for months.  I’m getting pretty excited about loosing this identity.  I’ve already started saying my farewells and telling musicians whose gigs I’m informed of via Facebook to take extra efforts to contact me external to their bulk Facebook invites. 

I’m now obtaining every photo from Facebook… all albums I’ve been part of, ridiculously 15, 969 photos in total, of which I’m only in 10% of that.  Hahaha, save them for a rainy day!  Loosing the photos were my main apprehension regarding parting with the giant media tool, so once I’ve got them (even in their poor quality), I’m out of there… potentially until my children get a Facebook account and I wish to track their virtual lives… if Facebook is still cool by then.  On the other hand, I could be totally weak, and cave in no time!  But now that I’ve taken measures to relinquish it, I don’t think I’ll be going back anytime soon. 

I expect the people who notice me to have my contact apart from Facebook anyway.  It’s rather unrealistic to believe I actually have 682 friends.  I probably really see about 10% of them on a monthly basis (the bulk of whom are the younger population of my church congregation, whom I deem my friends), whereby the inner circle is about 2% of my official Facebook count.  These peripheral and other withered friendships will prune themselves and the dead connections will no longer be held up by facade.

No bitterness, merely acknowledgement.  Whatever will be will be.

I feel like I’m about to breathe a different kind of air…

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rach said, on 24/06/2011 at 12:14 AM

    Whoa you’re deleting Facebook permanently???? That’s intense, even I’ve been off it since August (well, except through my brother bear Pooh Pooh’s account), but I’d hate to lose part of my history on it, even if I may never go back on. But I may when I start travelling again

  2. enisea said, on 24/06/2011 at 9:06 AM

    Haha, well from the onset my reasons for finally caving into getting an account (I was very apprehensive) was purely for obtaining photos and maybe keeping in touch with all the peripherals – but it sort of took on a life of its own and started to reign me onto a leash where I couldn’t travel far with it or without it. So hey, I’ve now got all the photos, and I probably have a lot less friends, but a sufficient number to keep me occupied within realistic vicinity for affecting my life.

    In terms of losing a part of my history, I lost a part of history when I decided my days of MSN conversations were over, and I lost several years worth of phone messages. I save a few of each, but to keep the bulk of them couldn’t be justified – there’s just so much excess. I’ve got all the photos (apparently retaining also the tags and comments on each) and that’s a ridiculous part of history to remember. I think more of my time on Facebook was spent browsing other people’s lives than actually interacting with them anyway. So it’s not that big a loss for me.

    I have a fortnight to change my mind.

    Rach, tell me when and where you’ll travel, I wouldn’t mind coming for a leg of it, You’d be a wonderful travel partner!

    • Rach said, on 24/06/2011 at 3:26 PM

      You are right about the excess, I have all these text messages in my old phones that I don’t even look at anymore, or never go back to look at. I guess it’s just the idea of it being there that is comforting. But they are like virtual momentos/junk that we pile up way too much of. I think you’ll be good with deleting it now, actually!! Haha

      I only say that because I can stalk you here :p

      ps – I don’t think I can come this Sunday!!!!! My friend actually asked me to North Melbourne Market, didn’t realise it was the same weekend, damn…… write about how it goes??

      • enisea said, on 24/06/2011 at 5:59 PM

        Oh shame! No dramas, I’ll let you know of the next ‘Art for Justice’ day!

        For you, Rach, I’d write anything :P (though I wish you’d write more! Or at least write publically!)


Leave a Reply

