the dance of the ink riddled fingers

who comes crawling back

Posted in epiphany tiffany, thought spills by enisea on 30/06/2011

Ahh, the couple of friends have got me thinking about the magnitude of deleting one’s established Facebook account.  I don’t want to use it, but I am one of rash, “QUICK, FREEZE THAT TURKEY” decisions and I’ve begun to think that all that earlier talk was the adrenalin of…well, a heartful but foolish morale.  And now I face the shame of going back on my word.  To be honest, there are just a few people whose contact I don’t have outside of Facebook and it’s quite heart wrenching to think that I might lose contact with them… or else have to search very, very hard to find them again.  Or suddenly become unavailable to those kids I told I was always available to, just because I don’t want to practice a little self-control/restraint.

Unfortunately for me, Facebook is a safety filter for communication with most of my generation.  It is safe  because you can’t get too close with people on Facebook (you can just be reasonably chatty and browse another’s virtual life); and it filters so that if you really didn’t feel like responding to somebody’s comment, situation could be easily averted – whereas face time or mobile conversation is much harder to distract from.  I can’t seem to work out which is weightier.  Whether we are so dependant on Facebook for communication and identity, or whether it has really become a life-integrated system/technology that is foolish not to utilise. 

On one hand, it is the typewriter vs. computer debate, on the other it is a statement of advocacy against everyone wearing their virtual identities like monitors on their heads!  Refusing to conform to the newer mode of communication will disqualify me from considerable interaction and experience, but conforming to it opens up the potential for living only by it and forgetting more in depth means.

So, I suppose I’ve thought long and hard about it.  And currently, I think if I were to delete the account now, I would regret it very soon.  So I’m not going to permanently delete it.  I just haven’t figured out what I’m going to do about my involvement with the social network… we’ll see.  But I’ll go and log in on the weekend…I think.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. saNdra said, on 01/07/2011 at 1:54 PM

    yer i wanted to delete my account after exchange because i only used it overseas for updates from school. but they never did update. lol. i guess i only use it to keep in touch with the international friends and i dont use it for my australian friends lol.

    – saNdra –


Leave a Reply

