the dance of the ink riddled fingers

the perfect parker

Posted in heroes of mine, how was your day?, pin the tail on the love by enisea on 22/08/2011

It had felt like a month since I’d last seen him and had my weekly hug.  My favourite 73-year-young man, some kind of fatherly!  Seeing him on Sunday was a blessed relief!  Since losing the purple, I haven’t had a pen to carry around as my primary writing tool.  Sunday-passed was the last day of this particular streak.

So I ask him if I could borrow that pen sitting in his shirt pocket. 
“Sure,” he replies “you can have it”
“No, I only need to borrow it, thanks!”
“You can have it!”
“But I only need it now”
“You can have it”
“Are you sure?”
“Yes, of course!”

I learned later, talking to his son-in-law that this is his ‘favourite pen’ as he always takes it with him.  Some part of me knew that this was probably the case and I knew like a spoilt child would, that I was among the limited population of favourites.  He later, when I farewelled him and thanked him again for the spontaneous gift, with a side squeeze,  told me something to the effect of “I only give precious things to the people I love because I know they’ll cherish it”.

That is lovely.

The pen is a ball point, and although it is not the finest tip, it is my first parker pen! A heavy little thing but smooth to write with – perfect just because of the love it was given out of!

There’s nothing like receiving gifts “just because” and out of love.  These givers I love because they generously add, not only to the quality of my day, but to the quality of my life.  They’re wonderfully thoughtful and of perfect timing! 

Generous hearts, lovely people, beautiful impact, love givers.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. saNdra said, on 30/08/2011 at 9:59 PM

    woah! that is so deep!!!


Leave a Reply

