the dance of the ink riddled fingers

occupied by the immediate rather than the important

Posted in epiphany tiffany, how was your day?, thought spills by enisea on 06/10/2011

There were a list of “to-do”s that began looking as long as Santa’s list as I slowly eased myself from my balmy-breeze laziness into the swirling depths of responsibility and productivity.  There were people I had to call, companies I had to inquire about, and an afternoon appointment, and people I simply needed to catch up with – in the name of friendship… all this obligation and I almost forgot to breathe any more than a “hello, good morning” to He who matters most.  It’s funny how we take for granted what we are certain of until it/they become almost invisible, yet we expect it/them to be there because there’s never been a time when it/they weren’t.  Like oxygen, tomorrow, health, water, family, a job, living quarters… and God.

.

Hello God, I almost forgot about you. Can I see you for a moment please? There are a million things I’ve been told to do but they’re not really important compared to you. This time and my hands are yours anyway – what did you want me to do with them again?

Don’t you hate it when the immediate competes with the important, and we mistake the immediate for being important when the important should immediately take priority and be the brunt of the momentum forward anyway?

Story of my life.

Leave a Reply

