the dance of the ink riddled fingers

beautifully boring

Posted in pin the tail on the love by enisea on 14/12/2011

I used to think I was cool, fun and adventurous, and that when I was finally in a relationship, I’d still be busy being cool, fun and adventurous with somebody else.  But one of the things I adore about this relationship

…is doing nothing.

By the time I’ve run around, overindulged in busyness, in planning my days up til its last minute and giving myself very little breathing space, saying ‘yes’ to most commitments, etc… the best part about having somebody love you that much is resting in the fact that they’d still love you at your most boring.  The fondest memories I have are those of merely sitting… on the couch – not walking, not partying, not building or working, not even eating, just not doing anything except being with him.  *Cue audience: “Awww”*.  Forget scaling giant bouldering peaks and absailing down amazing caves, expensive dinners, concerts or extravagant dates (for now).  I just love that I don’t need to even try to entertain him at all.  I have no need to impress or even try to look good (the fellow doesn’t seem to recognise my bad days).    I love that I can be honestly exhausted with him, and that when I am, all I need to do is walk into arms and I’m suddenly strengthened.

ps: I’ve noticed a slight drop in the little popularity I had with readers here… I presume it might have a little to do with making you all sick because I keep writing about this relationship and it’s sort of cliché and unoriginal?

I too would like not to be so typically taken by my first love…
But he’s sort of a big deal.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Charlie said, on 15/12/2011 at 4:47 PM

    lol i’m impressed ur still writing, relationships kill a lotta blogs
    hope you’re enjoying the sunshine =)

    • enisea said, on 17/12/2011 at 1:55 PM

      i hope so hard that nothing kills my writing.
      the sunshine is everywhere – it’s a little blinding.

      was i right in finding you?

  2. jacjac said, on 19/12/2011 at 4:55 PM

    I am so incredibly happy for you, I’ve never smiled more when I red your blog post.
    You deserve everything that is beautiful in life!


Leave a Reply

