the dance of the ink riddled fingers

dreaming the cafe

Posted in handfuls of ambition by enisea on 20/03/2011

It’s happened at least twice a year for the last few years.  My entrepreneur alter-ego overthrows the routine of my ‘thought government’ and ‘common life to-dos’ and picks up where the last held thought of pendulum dreams dared to swing, with no less momentum than last recalled.  Tonight I revisited my dreams of opening a cafe, thanks to Tim who began tickling the thoughts and helped me continue to weave.  He seemed to weave along my ambitions – a potential business partner and definite barista manager!

I wonder if everybody dreams of opening a cafe (I don’t even drink coffee!)? Every year something is added and the dream evolves.  I love the dream of: community, of quality, affordability, delicious health conscious items (bar caffeine), connecting community, meeting people, beginning to address solutions for the underprivileged, for the demolition of apathy and the advocacy of intention – be it in every little ‘mundane’ opportunity: stemming from cups of caffeine, for the warmth of acceptance and advertisement of aspiring artists, for promoting love, routines of pleasant little surprises, for remembering and appreciating earth, life and beautiful people… 

and it could all begin in a cafe.

That would be a dream.  God willing, a dream to be built into reality… yet somehow as an “on the side” ambition, secondary to my ambitions for working with/for children, but pioneering of its kind and more substantial than the average cafe profit stirrer.

The menu would be simple and the treats, delectable.
Comforting caffeine and beautiful banana bread,
and too many smiles to digest in one sitting

…in Melbourne’s south-east suburbia.